They should have called her VJ Barbie

Nice hat.

Even though the new Barbie comes with a video camera, I still can’t help but feeling Mattel dated her a little by calling her “News Anchor Barbie“. Calling her Multimedia Journalist Barbie or Video Journalist Barbie might’ve better accomplished the toy company’s goal of “empower[ing] girls to play out different roles and ‘try on’ fabulous careers, including news anchor, the first Barbie® profession chosen by global vote.” Let’s face it, by the time girls currently playing with Barbies reach career-age, news anchors won’t be looking much like this Barbie.

In fact, other than an outfit update, this News Anchor Barbie doesn’t seem to have changed much from the one I thought I remembered from the 80s– a time when the news anchor was slightly more celebrated than today. (Actually, it looks like I was thinking of Day to Night Barbie).

And all mine and my sister’s “Barbie 6 o’clock News” Playset did was set me up for dissapoinment when I walked on my first news set– you mean it’s not pink, and there’s no “Magic Change Screen”?! **Sad face**

About Elisha

I'm a video journalist, multimedia producer, and radio news broadcaster based in the San Francisco Bay Area.
This entry was posted in broadcasting, industry news, Misc, tv, TV news, video journalism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They should have called her VJ Barbie

  1. Patty says:

    Day-to-night Barbie was one of my first ones! I still remember her perfectly. I think I still have the hat. Oh… What great Memories! It is wonderful to remember. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

