How I got my first paying job in broadcasting…

If you’re a family member, or just someone who happened to stumble upon this blog and already saw this previous post, you know I’ve been prepping for my broadcasting, news, and video production career my whole life. But it wasn’t until early on in college that I started getting paid for it.

I’d like to pretend it was my special talents and fierce drive that got me hired for my first paying broadcasting gig, but that’s probably not true. In fact, it was a simple “yes” answer that I believe was the deciding factor for my new boss. The question: are you available to work Christmas Eve?

It was when I was still enrolled the radio and television classes at Ohlone College in Fremont. My radio professors knew I was from Livermore, so when the local Pleasanton adult contemporary station called to say they were hiring, my mentor gave me the info.

When I showed up for the interview, the program director had my resume sitting on his desk. I was really nervous—my broadcasting career was riding on this! But I don’t really remember anything in the interview other than a “Hi, how are you?” as he glanced over my resume, then “Are you available to work on Christmas Eve?”

My nod was barely completed when he said “Alright, I put you on the schedule for that night.”

And as simple as that, I was the newest fill-in producer and board operator for “For Lover’s Only”, a love song request and dedication show… before I’d even transferred to a four year university!

About Elisha

I'm a video journalist, multimedia producer, and radio news broadcaster based in the San Francisco Bay Area.
This entry was posted in broadcasting, elisha, radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

