Why I have a webpage: reason #1

notebook-computerThere’s a lot of different terms for what I call a video journalist. Backpack journalist. One man band. Multi-media journalist. Solo journalist. It’s seem like there’s new one’s cropping up every day, and in fact, I have been hearing a new one recently: digital journalist.

Makes sense. “Digital journalist” conjurs up an image of a journo who is constantly cranking out stories across all platforms; the deadline isn’t tonight at 10, it’s right now on the web.

So I ask you this: what kind of digital journalist isn’t web savvy? Isn’t it fitting that today’s digital journalist knows how to create content for the web in their sleep?

Reason number one I have a personal website is for practice. Practice creating web content, trying out website layouts, and making different graphics.

With my own page, I have 24-hour access to be able to try out new things on a website. Maybe I should coin a new term: Around the Clock Website journalist.

About Elisha

I'm a video journalist, multimedia producer, and radio news broadcaster based in the San Francisco Bay Area.
This entry was posted in blogging, elisha, video journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I have a webpage: reason #1

  1. Pingback: A rose by any other name… « elisharivers@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

