My 15 minutes…

spelling-failBack when I first started learning about working in TV and video (and cutting SVHS video using tape-to-tape editing!), there was really no such thing as the large-market Video Journalist. It slowly started to dawn on me– “I have to actually CHOOSE between being on TV, producing, shooting, and editing?! WHAT DO YOU MEAN I CAN’T DO IT ALL?” So, I set about choosing. Being the control freak I am, I decided on producing. And not just news. I had designs of national cable network programming– and among my favorites was HGTV.

Eventually, KRON went VJ (coincidentally, it happened while I happened to be interning at MythBusters, a show on another one of favorite cable networks). Working in web video also became a viable option. I longer had to choose, and opted to go the VJ route.

Flash forward to Fall of 2008, when HGTV.com held a casting call for a video blogger. My dream job! I sent in an audition video, and the production company told me I’d been narrowed down to one of five. Exciting stuff!

Needless to say, I didn’t get it. But now HGTV has uploaded my audition video (and the video of the other runners-up) to HGTV.com (watch it here). And that feels rewarding in and of itself.

About Elisha

I'm a video journalist, multimedia producer, and radio news broadcaster based in the San Francisco Bay Area.
This entry was posted in cable channels, elisha, pictures, video, video journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

